Business Etiquette By State
If you plan to travel with your food truck, then you will need to know the rules and regulations where you plan to visit. Business etiquette varies by state and city, so you have to know the rules before you show up and start selling your food.
New York City, New York
Image via Flickr by stu_spivack
New York City has an online checklist that can help make sure you complete every step required to operate a food truck in the city. Some of the most important steps include:
- Passing the Food Protection Course for Mobile Food Vendors ($53)
- Completing the Form DTF-17 for the New York State Certificate of Sales Tax Authority
- Paying your license fee ($10 for a seasonal license; $50 for a full-term license that lasts two years)
Getting your license is just the first step in operating your food truck business. You’ll also have to learn parking rules that can make it challenging for you to meet your customers in convenient places. These laws are subject to change, so check the current regulations before you visit NYC.
Los Angeles, California
Los Angeles has a lot of rules that food trucks have to follow. Luckily, the county, city, and state administrators explain those rules pretty well. It’s often difficult for new food truck vendors to start their businesses because they don’t understand the rules. Make sure you follow these important regulations:
- All equipment must meet ANSI certification
- You need a health permit from the Health Department
- You need a business license
- You may need additional health permits if you plan to operate in Vernon or Pasadena.
If you comply with LA County’s strict regulations, then you probably comply with those in Orange County, too. These requirements might seem like a burden, but meeting them gives you access to one of the best food truck communities in the country
Portland, Oregon’s food truck rules are currently in flux, so it makes sense for business owners to check the rules before heading to the Northwest.
Currently, food truck owners must pay $105 in permit fees. That’s not so bad expect that they have to pay that $105 again if they decide to use another location. Considering that food trucks have to move to meet their customers, this can become quite expensive.
A committee working with the city hopes to lower relocation fees to $30.
Miami makes it pretty easy for a food truck to get its license. To get the license, you must:
- Submit a drawing of your truck or cart
- Submit a menu or list of foods that you plan to sell
- Submit your equipment’s manufacturer specification sheets
- Pay a $212 fee
As long as you follow city and state standards, you should get you license quickly. Of course, you might still have questions about how food trucks are supposed to operate in Miami. That’s why the health department made this handy Q&A to keep food vendors informed.
Now that you know more about business etiquette in several cities, does one city appeal to you more than the others? Share your thoughts in the comments below.
Leave a Comment
You must be logged in to post a comment.